Skip to content

Testing… plus thrift shop finds!

03/11/2015

I don’t have the proper paints or sealants to be doing face-ups… But I want still want to. I have an entire shelf of dolls I want to repaint. The thing is, in Canada, we don’t allow MSC; I have done a ton of reading about other artists using other sealants, but I have yet to find a dealer for these other brands… I’m assuming I’ll find them at Michaels…

So I have a temporary way to paint my dolls, using acrylic paint, and then a coat of clear glue to make it shine. Here are some before and afters:

Laila before

Laila before

Laila after

Laila after

Marky before

Marky before

Marky after

Marky after

Marky’s lips dried a bit blotchy, I think that’s because I didn’t remove her stock lipstick. :/

Plus thrift shop finds! I stopped by my local Goodwill store, twice actually, and found these sweet items:

Bunch of broad lace

Bunch of broad lace

Cute porcelain and bone china decorations, and the bell works!

Cute porcelain and bone china decorations, and the bell works!

Tiny joined bear!

Tiny joined bear!

A lovely wooden jewellery box.

A lovely wooden jewellery box.

IMG_20150304_234551

Nice, vintage, pinking shears

Nice, vintage, pinking shears

And... Skelita, Nefera, Venus, and Frankie!

And… Skelita, Nefera, Venus, and Frankie!

Nefera, Venus, and Frankie came in a pack together and Skelita came alone with her shoes and bracelet. They were in OK condition Venus’ hair seemed beyond fixing, but after a wash it was smooth and tangle free. :D

IMG_20150310_142813IMG_20150310_142843IMG_20150310_143710~2

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/07/2015 5:28 am

    I use Liquitex Matte Varnish (spray aerosol version) myself and Tamiya clear gloss for lips and eyes to make them glossy. I order both on amazon.com (though you can find the Liquitex everywhere around here)

Leave a Reply

